Wasatch

The Week of Five Companions

5-9-16

Dear Family and Friends,

Yes, over the course of the week I have had 5 different companions. With a companion leaving the country to a companion coming into the country it has certainly been a crazy week. It all started on Monday when we took Sister Cade to the mission office. I was hoping to take her to the airport but no, I had to stay in the office while Sister Horne took her away. It was very sad to see her go, we had a lot of good times together and I will cherish those memories forever. That was the end of companion number 1. (that sounds awful, like I am killing them off or something horrible)
So there I was in the office, sitting and listening to all the commotion of preparing for transfers. I was sitting there with Sister Eberhardt listening to stories about other missionaries when Sister Jensen (the mission secretary) decided to run to the store. In the back of my mind I was hoping she would offer to take me so I could do something other than sit there. Don’t get me wrong, I like sitting but it was P-day and I needed to do something not so boring. So, Sister Jensen did offer to take me so I went with her to the store, then to her house then back to the store. We were picking out flowers for the departing missionary dinner that night. The only thing we could come up with to do was to get plants and to put them in pots. So I got to do that as well. We then spent the rest of the afternoon setting up tables and cutting cake and making this and that for dinner. Then, all the missionaries who were leaving showed up and that was the end of companion number 2
There was only one sister going home this transfer and so her companion needed someone to stay with her. I was that lucky sister. Sister Uelese was awesome and it took me back to my days with Sister Tonga. (Sister Uelese is from Samoa) We did a lot of contacting and walking around just talking to people. We don’t have apartment buildings in my area so it was fun and interesting to be in apartment complexes because there are a lot of people to talk to. That night before we went to bed she asked if I got cold at night. Since I had one very small blanket with me I said, yes I get cold sometimes. She said she got cold as well and so she turned the heater on. About 4 in the morning I woke up in a panic because I thought we were in a fire. It was so hot and I didn’t know if Sister Uelese was awake or if she was dead. I was up until the alarm went off and when it went off, we both jumped out of bed and ran to the living room where we opened the front door and sat there trying to cool down. It was rough… oh boy we almost died. Then we drove back to the mission office to get our new companions and that was the end of companion number 3.
At the mission office I met Sister Spurlock, my new companion. She is from Kentucky and has been out for 3 months. She was serving in Lyman, Wyoming and so it is strange for her to see so many nice houses like the ones in Wasatch. She is so cute and she loves to do missionary work. Although we were not able to hit our goal of 20 lessons this week, we were able to pick up a new investigator this week. His name is Rashaud and he is super humble right now and ready for the gospel. He was being taught before so he has a little background with the church. Sometimes I am not sure if that is a good or a bad thing. Now you might be asking yourself, what about the 5th companion, well that is an interesting story. Sister Spurlock and I were at dinner and she had the phone in her pocket. Somehow, she managed to answer a phone call that she didn’t know was coming in without touching the phone. So here we are talking with this family and out of no where we hear Sister Eberhardt’s voice. (Talk about shocking) She is saying, “Sister Andrus, is that you? Hello? Hello?” It was a little nerve raking to hear your name come from out of no where. Anyways she was on her way to the airport to get a sister who was from Canada and is in our mission now. This sister needed a place to stay for the night. She came with us for the night and the next morning until we took her back to the mission office. I felt so bad because in the middle of the night, she fell off her air mattress and tipped the entire thing over. It woke me up but in the morning because she was so embarrassed I told her I slept through it.
By far the best thing this week was skyping home and being able to see my family. I am so grateful for my wonderful mom. She is the best!! I love her so much!!
I hope y’all have a marvelous week.
Sister Andrus

Leave a Reply

